About Newark District

The Newark District Scout Council is a registered charity (number 1031735)

Where are we

The District covers Newark and the surrounding villages in Nottinghamshire; from Normanton-on-Trent in the north to Flintham in the south. 

The River Trent runs through the middle of the District, from south to north, and is used for water activities by Groups.

How big are we

There are 8 Scout Groups in the District and on a weekly basis we deliver Scouting to around 500 young people aged 6-18, with the help of nearly 200 volunteer leaders and administrative supporters.

How does it work

How does it work

Scouting is delivered wholly by trained volunteers (Leaders, Assistants, Managers, Supporters, Administrators) although we do have the support of a national staff team employed by the Scout Association.

The Management Team

The District is led by the District Commissioner who is supported by Assistant District Commissioners, District Leaders, Advisers and Administrators. These volunteers provide guidance and support to Scout Groups and their sections.

The District Executive Committee plays a vital role in the running of a Scout District. The Committee makes decisions and carries out administrative tasks to ensure that the best quality Scouting can be delivered to young people in the District.

The District Executive Committee

All members of the executive committee are trustees of the charity. Details of which can be found on the Charity Commission website: https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/charity-commission

Ex Officio Members

Oliver Phillips – Chair
Graeme Hood – District Commissioner
Wendy Walton-Towle
Geoff Bow
– Treasurer
Richard Dearlove – District Explorer Scout Commissioner
Ben Blyth – District Scout Network Commissioner

Elected Members

Chris Cobb
Claire Reynolds
Val Spyve
Dave Turner

Nominated Members

Cathy Bow
Katherine Hawkins
Sharon Lathlane
Jodie Rice